Published On: Mon, Apr 23rd, 2018

RS Chairman Venkaih Naidu rejects opposition notice against CJI’s removal

New Delhi: Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on Monday rejected the Congress-led opposition’s notice for impeachment of Chief Justice Dipak Misra.

Naidu also held deliberations with senior officials of the Rajya Sabha

“Having considered the material contained in the notice of motion and reflected upon the inputs received in my interaction with legal luminaries and constitutional experts, I am of the firm opinion that the notice of the motion does not deserve to be admitted. Accordingly I refuse to admit notice of motion,” said Naidu.

While reviewing the notice, Rajya Sabha officials had mentioned that making public the contents of a notice before it is admitted by the Chair, is in violation of parliamentary rules, informed sources said.

According to the provisions in the handbook for Rajya Sabha members, no advance publicity should be given to any notice to be taken up in the House till it is admitted by the Chairman.

The Chairman in the morning held detailed consultations with the legal and constitutional experts on the impeachment notice moved by the Congress and six other opposition parties.

He had cut short his visit to Hyderabad and reached Delhi on Sunday as some of the experts he wanted to consult conveyed their availability of Sunday.

Among those consulted by the Chairman, included KK Venugopal and and his predecessor K Parasaran.

He also spoke to former Lok Sabha Secretary General Subhash Kashyap, former Law Secretary PK Malhotra and former Legislative Secretary Sanjay Singh.

Former Secretary General of the Rajya Sabha VK Agnihotri was also consulted.

Apart from this, Naidu also held deliberations with senior officials of the Rajya Sabha. He also spoke to former Supreme Court judge BS Sudarshan Reddy.

The decision was taken before the Supreme Court began its proceedings for the day.

The Congress had on Sunday appealed that the Chief Justice should himself consider recusal from judicial administrative work. It said the decision should come “voluntarily” following notice for his removal.

On Friday, as many as 64 Parliamentarians (MPs) belonging to seven political parties signed the notice for removal proceedings against the CJI on five grounds of “misbehaviour”. They include MPs from the Congress, the NCP, CPM, the CPI, the SP, the BSP and the Muslim League.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>