Published On: Tue, Mar 26th, 2019

BJP denies ticket to eight sitting MPs as Maneka Gandhi, son Varun swap seats

New Delhi: Days after denying tickets to party veterans LK Advani and Shanta Kumar, the BJP on Tuesday kept out Murli Manohar Joshi from the list of candidates and instead fielded Uttar Pradesh Minister Satyadev Pachauri from Kanpur.

The party has fielded Subrat Pathak from Kannauj against Dimple Yadav

A list issued by the Bharatiya Janata Party included 29 candidates from Uttar Pradesh and 10 from West Bengal.

Among the 29 candidates, the party denied tickets to eight of its sitting MPs, shifted two of the MPs to other constituencies and swapped the seats of Union Minister Maneka Gandhi and her son Varun Gandhi.

Varun Gandhi will now contest from Pilibhit and Maneka Gandhi from Sultanpur.

Besides Joshi, those sitting MPs denied tickets are Bharat Singh (Ballia), Nepal Singh (Rampur), Akshay Kumar Dohrey (Etawah), Shyama Charan Gupta (Allahabad), Priyanka Singh Rawat (Barabanki) and Savitri Bai Phule (Bahraich).

Minister in the Yogi Adityanath government, Rita Bahuguna Joshi, will contest from Allahabad. Shyama Charan Gupta, the outgoing BJP MP from Allahabad, recently joined the Samajwadi Party.

In Bahraich, the party has fielded Akshaywarlal Gaud in place of outgoing MP Phule. She has now joined Congress.

Denying ticket to Nepal Singh, the party has fielded Jaya Prada, who joined the BJP on Tuesday, against Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan in Rampur.

Ballia MP Bharat Singh has been replaced by Bhadohi MP Virendra Singh Mast while the sitting Agra MP Ram Shankar Katheria has been asked to contest from Etawah, the seat represented by Dohrey.

In Kushinagar, the party has fielded sitting MP Rajesh Pandey. The Barabanki MP has been replaced by local MLA Upendra Rawat.

The party has reposed its faith on 20 sitting MPs including Minister of State for Railways Manoj Sinha, who has retained his Gazipur seat.

Others included Kirtiwardhan Singh (Gonda), Jagdambika Pal (Domariyaganj), Harish Dwivedi (Basti), Pankaj Chaudhary (Maharajganj), Kamlesh Paswan (Bansgaon), Ravindra Kushwaha (Salempur), Mahendra Nath Pandey (Chandauli), Rekha Verma (Dhaurahra), Mukesh Rajput (Farrukhabad), Devendra Singh Bhole (Akbarpur), Bhanu Pratap Verma (Jalaun), Pushpendra Singh Chandel (Hamirpur), Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti (Fatehpur), Vinod Sonkar (Kaushambi), Lallu Singh (Faizabad), Brijbhushan Sharan Singh (Kaisarganj) and Daddan Mishra (Shravasti).

The party has fielded Subrat Pathak from Kannauj against Dimple Yadav, the wife of former UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.

In West Bengal, the party announced its candidates for 10 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal. The party had previously announced names for 30 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state.

With this, the party has announced candidates for 40 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

There are three doctors and one Muslim candidate among the 10 BJP candidates announced on Tuesday.

The BJP has fielded former Trinamool Congress minister Humayun Kabir from the Murshidabad seat. Kabir was expelled from the Bengal’s ruling party in 2015 for alleged anti-party activities.

He is pitted against Trinamool Congress’ Abu Taher Khan and CPI-M’s Badruddoza Khan, the sitting MP.

The party has nominated actor Joy Banerjee from the Uluberia seat in Howrah district, while late Matua matriarch Binapani Devi’s grandson Matua Mahasangha leader Shantanu Thakur has been fielded from the Bangaon constituency, largely dominated by the Dalit community.

Thakur is pitted against his aunt and sitting MP of Trinamool Congress Mamata Bala Thakur.

The saffron party has also fielded Nilanjan Roy against Trinamool Congress MP and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee and veteran BJP leader and renowned doctor Subhash Sarkar against Bengal Panchayat Minister Subrata Mukherjee.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>